top of page

It's NEVER too early to talk about anti-racism.


As a mother, and educator, a humanitarian worker and a global citizen, I firmly believe that it is never too early to talk to your kids about race. I've been having the "skin color conversation," with my son since he was first scared to be held by white people, as a baby. Since he was a curious toddler, since he realized that all the other kids were darker than him, this conversation has grown with him. While we were living in different countries in Asia, my son wondered why folks would tell him not to get "too brown, cover up, don't stand in the sun, use creams to stay 'fair,' it's better to have light skin." He would often say "No my Mom is white, I'm brown and my Papa is dark brown and I wanna be like my Papa."


The first time I came to America as a Mom with my brown baby boy, I was asked if he was mine. I would respond "Of course he's mine!" But then people would pry further..."oh no of course he's yours...but did you adopt?" I guess when I became a mother I never realized that I would have to give explanations to strangers that my biological child was indeed mine. because he had melanin.


I was totally naive.


Teetering in three different cultures, seeing the systemic racism that was woven into the fabric of the world beyond where I had grown up in the States, I was overwhelmed.


Years later, my son would come home in tears from preschool saying that certain staff were making fun of his skin. Outraged as an educator myself, I couldn't believe that adults would speak to my 3 year old like that. Through international travel I've seen the spectrum from the "special treatment," to the ugly remarks, all due to sizing me and my biracial, multi-ethnic family up by our looks.


Children need to hear these conversations from their first teachers- PARENTS/Guardians. Before they ever step into a daycare, preschool, formal schooling, the discussion starts at home. How do your words and actions model anti-racism in the home? This next generation will look at the example you have modeled before them.


And though as a white woman I cannot relate to the plight of Black Lives Matter, just now moving back to the U.S. I can and am willing and ready to support, advocate and fight for all injustice here in this country. I see you. I am listening. I am your ally.


Until there is JUSTICE FOR ALL.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page